faith: The Human O.S.

14 Sep

Most people will instantly glom to O.S. as meaning Operating System.  What then does faith mean in this context?   What it doesn’t mean, at least exclusively, is the yes, no or maybe business concerning all those gods and goddesses of sky, grove or grotto.  They are only part of the whole.  The gist is that everything we know, teach others or ruminate about endlessly, originated in the mind of a human being.  No exceptions.

Let’s go to the book.

In this case The Free Dictionary and let’s start and stop with the first definition:

faith  n.

  1. confidence or trust in a person or thing.

 To me that statement conveys the essence of what compels all of human existence.  Having been born blank and helpless, as all are, how then do we function in this world without blueprint or roadmap?   It is because we are surrounded by others who use the cranky old O.S. from our deep past.

  I suggest that the moment in some dark age when the light of consciousness, that staggering bit of brilliant awareness visited the first humans, FAITH immediately became the Operating System.  If we attribute to the animal world instinct as the O.S; is not Faith our O.S?

 Let’s look at a few examples of what a newborn may be exposed to in the course of a lifetime.

A  BABE’S HANDBOOK OF KNOWLEDGE

(Random Articles of Faith.  Feel free to help yourself to any that have good prospect.)

I am told: E=mc2

I am told: The world was created in 7 days.

I am told: There are 8 Planets in the Solar System.

I am told: I may be reincarnated as a gnat.

I am told: Neanderthal made tools and used fire.

I am told: A baby was born of a virgin mother.

I am told: It is 92,955,807.3 miles to the sun.

I am told: I have a guardian angel.

I am told: Hydrogen is the lightest element.

I am told: The Red Sea was parted to permit foot traffic.

I am told: The number of rings in a tree tells its age.

I am told: The cow is a sacred animal.

I am told: The world will end this year.

I am told: 144 thousand people will be saved.

I am told: Piffle is spelled with two effs.

I am told: Masturbation causes hair to grow on your palms.

I am told: God loves me.

I am told: New York City is in New York State.

I am told: A man once returned from the dead.

I am told: The cheetah is the fastest running land animal.

I am told: To the Hopi, the Great Spirit is all powerful.

I am told: The New York Times prints “All the News That’s Fit to Print”.

I am told: The majority of Muslims are Sunni.

I am told: An apple a day keeps the doctor away.

I am told: The Buddha became enlightened after 49 days under a fig tree.

I am told: The rain in Spain stays mainly in the plain.

SO

In light of an overwhelming deluge of facts, factoids and what-nots, I must conclude :

 “THE TRUTH is… anything you agree with and …faith makes it all possible”.

 Since trafficking in FAITH is the métier of every savant, prophet and charlatan, the arcane goal is to have the greatest number of people agree on something for the longest possible interval of time.  The promise and plea of the religious, the powerful and the pedantic to gain approval or license is, “Trust me on this”.

 FAITH is the only Operating System we humans have.  It must not be usurped by any despot, divine or dogmatist.

By Robert Magill

righttrax@aol.com

 

Leave a Reply

